Library Card Policies
Information about applying for a library card, policies, and fines and fees is below.
Get a Library Card
The first library card is free and available to all Maryland residents. There is no age limit. Identification (photo ID) is needed showing a current mailing address. A legal guardian’s signature is required if the cardholder is under age 18. Customers who live outside the state of Maryland may obtain a library card for an annual fee of $10.00 for children up to age 18 and $30.00 for adults. Some exceptions apply.
The Library Card Application
The borrower or his/her guardian is responsible for the security and condition of the materials checked out on the borrower’s card. HCPL cards can be used at any branch in the county system and at other Maryland public libraries subject to their current policies and procedures. You may download the Application Form (pdf), complete it, and return to any HCPL library. Or you may apply online and receive a temporary library card number.
Library Card Replacement Fees (lost or stolen)
Juvenile Card - $1.00
Customers must immediately report a lost or stolen card and are responsible for all items checked out on the lost or stolen library card.
Cards Blocked From Use
A customer’s full borrowing privileges are blocked if accumulated fines and fees reach $10 or more. Full borrowing privileges may be regained with 100% payment. Customers who pay 50% or more may check out two books. Less than 50% payment results in suspension of borrowing privileges until the charges are reduced by 50%.
Customer Borrowing Age Requirements
A customer must be 14 years or older to borrow DVDs and videogames cataloged as Adult.
PIN (Personal Identification Number)
A PIN (personal identification number) enables customers to review their library card account online, view a list of items borrowed and due date, request books and other items, and renew most items. Customers may also access their library account by telephone by calling QuikChek at 410-638-3151. The default PIN is the last four digits of the customer’s telephone number on the library account. Contact us if you have forgotten your PIN or need assistance.
Books and most other items are loaned for 21 days. Exceptions are listed below.
Borrowing Maximums (number of items)
Customers may generally borrow items in unlimited quantities. Exceptions are listed below.
Most materials may be renewed twice if not on reserve for another customer. Renewals can be done in person at any branch, over the phone by calling 410-638-3151, or online at My Account. Please note that overdue fines are owed if the item is renewed after the due date.
Reserves (or requests) can be placed on most circulating materials. Customers may place their own reserves from a computer while using the catalog. The customer will receive a computer-generated telephone notification or e-mail when the material becomes available. A customer can sign-up for e-mail notification by accessing My Account and clicking on My Record.
Where To Return Materials
Items may be returned to any Harford County Public Library or to any public library in Maryland regardless of where they were originally checked out.
The library does not assume responsibility for items left in mailboxes; outside or on top of book drops; or at the door.
Fines and Fees
A daily fine is charged for each item that is overdue.
Fines will not exceed the cost of the item.
The charge is the cost of the item plus $5.00 processing fee.
Any item damaged beyond repair is handled as a lost item. If the item is repairable, $5.00 is charged. Damage to non-print material is assessed on an item-by-item basis. The library is not responsible for personal equipment damaged by library materials.
Lost or Damaged Barcode Label or RFID Tag
$1.00 fee per label or tag on library materials
$25.00 fee for returned checks
Photocopies and Printing
$0.25 per page
The library faxes answers to information questions for $0.25 per page. The fee is added to the borrower’s record.
Faxing service is also available to the public. The fee is $1.50 for each page plus $1.00 for the cover sheet for local calls (includes toll free numbers), and $2.00 per page plus $2.00 for the cover sheet for long distance calls (numbers requiring a 1 in front of the 10-digit number).
Earbuds, flash drives and book bags are available for purchase
Overdue Notification System
Customers receive a computer-generated email or phone call regarding materials that are 7 days overdue. The computer leaves a message if a phone call is answered by an answering machine. A customer can sign-up online to receive email notification by going to My Account and clicking on My Record.
For materials which remain 21 days overdue, the library will send a second overdue notice and after 34 days, the library will send a written final bill. The customer has 14 days to return the materials and pay all outstanding fines or fees.
After 14 days, the account is forwarded to a collection agency if the customer owes $25.00 or more and has not cleared his or her record. A $10.00 non-refundable fee is added to the account.
If items are returned within 30 days but fines and fees are still owed, the customer will receive a fine notice and will have 14 days to reconcile the account or the account will be turned over to a collection agency.
NOTE: Pre-overdue e-mail notices are a courtesy and should not be solely relied upon as reminders of item due dates. We have no control over e-mail once it leaves our system. Please add the hcplonline.org domain to your safe list so that our notices do not go into your junk folder. Please contact us if you have any questions.
It is the policy of the Harford County Public Library Board of Trustees that library users may expect a high quality of service. This includes:
To facilitate the appropriate use of the library by the public, the Harford County Public Library Board of Trustees expects library users to observe these basic rules of behavior:
We reserve the right to inspect packages and bags before they leave the building.